How Should A Reborn Christian Act?

Standard

***Warning – This blog may upset some people

What a way to start my newest blog. When we are reborn as a Christian through Christ’s sacrifice, I believe that it comes with certain responsibilities; being kind to others, non-judgmental towards others, giving the credit for ALL good things we do to Christ and the list goes on.

Read this part carefully – Just because you go to church that doesn’t make you a Christian, anymore than sitting in a garage makes you a car. When people say they are a Christian in one breath – and put down their neighbor in the next; talk about all the sacrifices they make for God as they are complaining that they aren’t satisfied with the 2-year-old car they have; or better yet, talk about how they can’t believe that “SHE” wore that to church. Really, that is NOT Christian PERIOD.
When you are truly reborn into Christ – you want to do right (being a sinner makes it hard) you want Him to get the glory, you want to give all you have to Him because He gave all for you.
Now before you say that I am being judgmental – you are RIGHT – I am. I firmly believe that when someone is representing themselves as a Child of God we are responsible to make sure that they are accountable for their actions, words or lifestyle. That doesn’t mean I think I am better than them, and I would hope that my friends and family would admonish me when my behavior is contrary to the will of God.

We are responsible to make sure that we as Christians present ourselves as fallen saints & unworthy sinners and without His sacrifice bound for hell. When we do not use the gift of our rebirth in Christ as a positive identification and act like we are better because we are “Christians”, we are in danger of condemning others to being turned away to the wonderful gift we have.
We do not attend church because we are perfect saints but we attend church because we are unworthy sinners.

I am hoping to get some comments about this, does anyone deal with these feelings when confronted with any of these situations? If so, how do YOU handle them, because as anyone who knows me will tell you, I tend to be outspoken and am working on being more “politically correct”.

Remember, no matter my rant – God Loves You And So Do I

Michele Edgel

5 responses

  1. Great post, Michele! I, too, am guilty of treating the church like my club, and the members my friends instead of “seeing” with my spiritual eyes that it is the body of Christ. All of us should be willing to “speak the truth in love” to one another when we are not reflecting love and gratitude to the one who saved us.

    Like

  2. I think integrity is so important. If you show integrity, you bear the fruit of true repentance. I struggle with the sin of judgment myself. However, if someone is consistently not bearing fruit of the Spirit, I think it is safe to say that they are not fully mature Christians, or at the bare minimum, have a spiritual blind spot. The parable of the soils has helped me understand why people who call themselves Christians act without integrity. When I find myself frustrated by their behavior, I remind myself that I am not their judge, but as far as it depends upon me, I must live in peace with them. Sometimes that means keeping my distance. Thanks for your honest post Michele.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I liked your comment, Sarah. I remind myself of one of the Psalms of David when he says to God, “against you, you only have I sinned.” When someone sins, it is an offense against God, not against me and I should not take it personally.
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for your comment Sarah. I am fortunate enough to have great spiritual guides in my Pastor and Joan, but even they have a hard time keeping me on track. I always say =
    “I try each day to be better than I was yesterday, and pray to be even better tomorrow”
    Keep commenting, I love feedback.

    Like