New Month/New Theme

Standard

I’ve been amazed since the Lutheran ladies started this blog at how thinking about the topic for each month affects me.  Often I start out wondering how I will write one post about this, yet the more I study, read the posts of others and most of all, PRAY, the more thoughts come flowing into my mind.  I am actually sorry when the month comes to an end and we have to move on.

This brings me to our May theme, PRAYER, which was suggested by Karen, prayer partner coordinator for the Eastern District AFLC women.  Here’s what she had to say in an email to me:

 “we’ve(husband & I) been acknowledged in public seen silently bowing our heads…We were eating and a man came and stood by our table, we were wondering who he was, if we knew him and didn’t recognize him, what he was wanting…his clothing and appearance was a bit shabby and it sent a red alert flag…he acknowledged our meal prayer…you never know where angels are- what they look like…we were a bit shocked…we pray before meal time at home and it’s just become a good habit to do so wherever we are…how humbling and special he made our day.  How do others acknowledge grace before meal time in public???  Easter dining out???  Grace with family not interested in Christ/at home gatherings.. Ya..we pulled into the eatery (Denny’s type) on a large motorcycle and wearing many layers of clothing for warmth/ helmet hair/ and perhaps didn’t meet the textbook description of a Christian-whatever that is- (even so he looked worse than us) people are watching our actions!!! “

So, bloggers, how would you respond the Karen about praying in public?  Should we pray in public places? Does public prayer have an affect on unbelievers?  Have you had an experience like hers?

Of course, prayer is a big topic, so feel free to move on to other aspects, thoughts, verses and songs about prayer.  I’m looking forward to it and I hope you are too!  Happy blogging everyone!

Send us a comment on the blog, or email us at freelutherns@myactv.net with your suggestions for the June theme.

2 responses

  1. I have been surfing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did,
    the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

    • Chrinstine, Thanks you for your encouragement. Please let us know what topics you would like to see on our blog. We want to be helpful to you and others.

      Like