The War Room – it’s all about prayer

Standard

But when you pray, go into your room and shut the door and pray to your Father who is in secret.  And your Father who sees in secret will reward you. Matthew 6:6

I had heard about this movie through the local Christian Radio station and I was intrigued.  It sounded like a movie I’d like to watch.  Now, me saying this is strange as there isn’t a lot of movies out that I really want to see.  I don’t even watch TV.  I’m more a book person.

I did get this movie and watched it soon after I got it.  It is so very good.  It is all about prayer, and it certainly isn’t boring as you would first think.  The one of the main characters is an older lady who has learned to go into her “room” to pray for others.  This room was a walk-in closet so it wasn’t big or elaborate.  She meets a younger woman through listing of her home for sale.  Now this younger woman is trying to balance work and family and is now having some marital problems.  So the older woman starts to counsel the younger on the power of prayer.  If I give you any more of this story I’ll have to make the title of this blog “Spoiler Alert!” so I’m just going to say that the story will captivate you will all the wonderful things that happen because of the power of prayer.

I wanted to watch this movie because I felt that my prayer life was, not bad, but not great either.  It’s hard to find time to get away and pray.  I feel that when you pray you should really try to connect with the Lord and when I feel that I’m not connecting is when I have a tendency to not pray as much.  But now I realize that I should keep it up.

I am a person that prays off and on all day.  I’ll hear something on the radio and I’ll raise a prayer for those people or if I’m struck by a beautiful day I’ll raise a prayer of thanks.  I might be paying bills and pray that the Lord will meet our needs.  I’ll hear or see someone and I’ll pray for them on the spot.  All of this is silent prayer or as I like to call it “Heart Prayer”.  The only problem with this kind of prayer is that you don’t have any quiet or meditation.

In response to seeing this movie I’m trying to find time, usually in the evening, to sit and think about my day and write in a journal.  I write my prayer concerns in there too.  I’m new to journaling so I hope to keep this up.

Does anyone else out there struggle with these concerns?  Have you found your own solutions?  Let me know!  I’d love to hear some suggestions.

One response

  1. I requested this movie from the library because you recommended it, Beth Ann. I will let you know what I think later. Thanks!

    Like