The Book That Matters Most

Standard

I guess by now regular readers know that I read a lot.  I’m currently reading a novel by Ann Hood, called The Book That Matters Most.  It’s about the members of a book club who have decided that the theme for the year is “The book that matters most.”  Each member gets a chance to choose a book that changed their life, or that was especially significant to them.  Most of the choices are classics:  Anna Karenina, The Great Gatsby, Pride and Prejudice, etc..

Of course, this made me think, what is the book that matters most to me?  I’ve read many, many books in my life but not one of them stands out this way for me except the Bible.  It has something to say about every aspect of human life:  being young or old, married or single, Jewish or Christian, slave or free.  It addresses every human emotion: anger, grief, love, compassion, joy, anxiety, and more.  It teaches history and theology.  It has biographies, adventures, sermons, poetry and practical advice.  It uplifts, it inspires, it challenges.

Here’s a quote from The Catcher in the Rye (one of the books selected by the club):

“What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it.  That doesn’t happen much, though.”

Guess what, with the Bible that does happen.  It’s God’s love letter to you and me.  We can talk to Him about it (or anything else) whenever we want.  There’s just no contest — what book could matter more?

 

 

2 responses

  1. Your comment is something I can relate to. Belong to a book club and previously choose Catcher In The Rye as my favorite book…while reading the Bible thought and said out loud” this is a good book”..after pondering 🙂 smiled and laughed said “This is really the GOOD Book” it took me some time to realize this!!! The Book That Matters most is a good suggestion for a book club and a chance to witness….

    The book that is stolen the most is the Bible-has been that way for years. I find great joy in seeing the Bible within the reading material at my doctor’s and inspiring while traveling in the night stand drawer of hotels (while traveling with limited packing space and take along my Portals of Prayer).
    Prayer Partner
    Karen

    Like

    • I didn’t know that the Bible was the most stolen book! Very interesting.
      I’ve been in a book club too, the Bible would be a difficult pick because it takes so long to read!
      But you could pick a book of the Bible … hmmm…

      Like