Lost and Found

Standard

I have a reoccurring dream theme:  I’m lost or I’ve lost something.  Time is passing and I’m searching and becoming more and more anxious.  Like the rabbit in Alice in Wonderland, I’m going to be late and/or unprepared.  It’s not a good dream.

For some reason those dreams made me think about the church and all the things I would lose if I weren’t part of it.  Of course one thing I wouldn’t lose is my salvation, because like all good Lutherans I know that God chose me and gave me faith, I don’t earn it by going to church or by the things I do there.  But my Christian life would be only a shadow of what it could and should be without the church.

At church, I learn more about Christ and the life of faith.  I learn through Sunday School, Bible study and sermons.  The Bible becomes a living part of me, not a reference book I have to refer to.  I learn through the example of others.  There are so many people at church I admire for different things.  People at church have taught me about generosity, self sacrifice, leadership, compassion, joy and any other Christian virtue you can think of.  Better yet, the folks at church encourage and support me when I use my gifts for the good of the congregation. In fact, church was the place I found out that I had gifts to share!

Church is the place I go to worship God (a good reminder in case I drifted away during the week) and where I receive the sacrament of communion, which strengthens me for the days and trials ahead.  I get to sing!  Don’t you think singing always makes you feel better? You don’t even have to sing well, just lose yourself in making a joyful noise to the Lord. I see friends who celebrate and mourn with me and who pray for me whenever I ask.

So, I am puzzled.  Who would want to lose all that in order to find a few more hours to sleep in, or go to the mall or watch sports on TV?  What do you find when you take time for church?  What do you lose when you don’t?

“Let us not neglect meeting together, as some have made a habit, but let us encourage one another, and all the more as you see the Day approaching.”Hebrews 10:25

 

 

 

2 responses

  1. PROPHECIES -TONGUES-KNOWLEDGE BY STEVE FINNELL

    Do supernatural gifts of prophecies, tongues, and knowledge exist today?

    NIV: 1 Corinthians 13:8 Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away.

    GOD’S WORD TRANSLATION: 1 Corinthians 13:8 Love never comes to an end. There is the gift of speaking of what God has revealed, but it will no longer be used. There is the gift of speaking in other languages, but it will stop by itself. There is the gift of knowledge, but it will no longer be used.

    KING JAMES BIBLE: 1 Corinthians 13:8 Charity never faileth: but where there be prophecies, they shall fail; whether there be tongues, they shall cease; whether there be knowledge, it shall vanish away.

    When shall prophecies, tongues, and knowledge no longer be needed?

    NIV: 1 Corinthians 13:10 but when the perfection comes, the imperfect disappears.

    GOD’S WORD TRANSLATION: 1 Corinthians 13:10 But when what is complete comes, then what is incomplete will no longer be used.

    KING JAMES BIBLE: But when that which is perfect is come, then that which is in part shall be done away.

    When the New Testament Scriptures were completed, we had all the Bible. Everything we need is found there!

    2 Timothy 3:16-17 All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; 17 so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work.(NEW AMERICAN STANDARD BIBLE)

    THE BIBLE IS ALL WE NEED!

    READ MY CHRISTIAN BLOG>>>>> steve-finnell.blogspot.com

    Like

    • Steve, I appreciate your reading our blog and your comments. However, I’m not clear on what your comment is getting out. Lutherans accept the Bible as the final authority, but that doesn’t mean the church is not necessary. See Romans 10:14-15 “But how are they to call on him in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in him of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone preaching? And how are they to preach unless they are sent?” In Ephesians, Paul tells us that the church is the body of Christ and “he gave the apostles, the prophets, the pastors and teachers, to equip the saints for the work of ministry, for building up the body of Christ…”

      Like