The Church Needs You!

Standard

“The eye cannot say to the hand, ‘I have no need of you,’ nor again the head to the feet, ‘I have no need of you.’…But God has so composed the body …that there may be no division in the body, but that the members may have the same care for one another.  If one member suffers, all suffer together;  if one member is honored, all rejoice together.”  1 Corinthians 12:21-26

Last month I fell down some steps and stubbed my big toe.  It hurt badly for weeks.  I hobbled around, unable to take my daily walks or vacuum.  I had a hard time walking through the grocery store to buy groceries, and there was no way once I purchased them to get them up the stairs to our condo without help.  I couldn’t climb onto my step stool to put things away on the higher shelves in the kitchen. A toe seems like a pretty insignificant part of the body, but that sore toe threw a big monkey wrench into my usual life and activities.

The verses from Corinthians tell us the same thing is true of Christ’s body, the church.  Maybe you think the Pastor or the members of the Church Council or the Elders are the ones to count on.  We do need them.  But we also need the folks who clean the kitchen, weed the flowers, sing, buy office supplies, etc.. Even those who are older or disabled can pray, send cards, or make phone calls. Did you ever stop to think how many people are involved in making Sunday worship services happen?  Ushers, greeters, readers, musicians, acolytes, cleaners, copiers, the altar guild…you get the idea.  Church happens when each of us does our part.

So be part of the body.  We need hands and feet, heads and toes.  There is something you can do.

 

About jculler1972

My husband is the pastor of St. Paul's Free Lutheran Church in Leitersburg, Maryland. I have two grown daughters and a granddaughter and am retired after a career in Purchasing. I have published articles in The Lutheran Ambassador, Lutheran Witness, and Lutheran Digest. My Bible study on the Book of Acts was recently published by the Women's Missionary Federation of the AFLC(Association of Free Lutheran Churches).

Comments are closed.