Thankful for the Gospel

Standard

“All that the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me, I will never cast out. For I have come down from heaven, not to do my own will but the will of him who sent me.  And this is the will of him who sent me, that I should lose nothing of all that he has given me, but raise it up on the last day.  For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.”  John 6:37-40

This was the gospel reading in church Sunday.   Our pastor told us it is an extremely comforting verse, because it reminds us that our salvation cannot be lost.  If  we believe in Christ, if we are  one of his flock, we are His forever.  We can look forward to eternal life with Him.

Sometimes when we have been Christians for a long time, we spend so much time studying the nuances of the Bible — the historical background, the differing interpretations of different words, the things scholars and commentators have to say, that we lose sight of the basics.  We should never “assume” the gospel.  We need to hear it over and over again.

Jesus Christ died and rose for ME.  Remember that every day and give thanks!

About jculler1972

My husband is the pastor of St. Paul's Free Lutheran Church in Leitersburg, Maryland. I have two grown daughters and a granddaughter and am retired after a career in Purchasing. I have published articles in The Lutheran Ambassador, Lutheran Witness, and Lutheran Digest. My Bible study on the Book of Acts was recently published by the Women's Missionary Federation of the AFLC(Association of Free Lutheran Churches) in 2017

Comments are closed.