Practicing Gratitude

Standard

I told you in a previous blog that being grateful is good for your physical, emotional and mental health.  Recently I ran across an article shared on Linked In that gave a 23 minute morning exercise that in 21 days would lead you to have a more positive attitude and outlook.  It could easily be adapted to have a Christian focus.  A way to practice gratitude.

  1. Spend 15 minutes exercising.  My addition … if you walk around your neighborhood, give thanks for the beauty of God’s creation.  Give thanks that you are able to walk, run, bend, reach, whatever type of exercise you choose.
  2. Spend 2 minutes meditating.  I suggest turning this part into what is called a “breath prayer.”  Breath slowly in and out, paying attention to your breathing and repeat a prayerful phrase — Lord have mercy, Jesus, my shepherd, or something similar.
  3. Think back over the preceding 24 hours and journal about a positive experience you had.  Give thanks for that. (3 minutes)
  4. Write a quick text, email or note encouraging someone. (3 min).

I haven’t been successful yet at doing this consistently, but I’m going to keep trying.  What about you?  Can you try this morning “gratitude” routine and let us know if it helps you develop an “attitude of gratitude”?

Comments are closed.