Thankful for My Country

Standard

Do not put your trust in princes, in human beings, who cannot save. Psalm 146:3

Ok, I’ve decided to weigh in on politics, which could be a dangerous thing to do right now.  The recent campaign was mean spirited and divisive.  Many people found both candidates unacceptable.  Many people became angry during the process.  Many are fearful and dissatisfied with the results.

Here’s my perspective (and no, I’m not going to tell you how I voted).  I’m thankful to live in a country where I can vote and express my opinions freely.  I try to take those privileges seriously.  As a citizen, I have a responsibility to be informed and cast my vote for the person I feel will best serve all the people.  As a Christian, I have the responsibility to voice my opinions with “gentleness and respect.”

I’m thankful to live in a country that isn’t a dictatorship.  No President remains in office forever.  If you don’t like him (or her) in 8 years at most, he’s history.  As a Christian, I (try hard) to put my trust in Jesus Christ, the only constant in life.

I’m thankful to live in a country where we have many checks and balances to control power.  No president has the ability to make decisions alone.  He must contend with the legislature and the courts.  The composition of both may change during his tenure.  They may be supportive of his policies, or hostile. As a Christian, I believe that God is in control of history.  He’s working things out in His way and time, even if it’s not clear to me.  I can stay calm regardless of the political atmosphere.

My husband, our pastor, often points to the verse from Psalm 146 which I cited above.  We may be grateful for our country, but we should take care not to worship it or any political candidate. Any candidate or President can only “save” us temporarily.  Regardless of who is President, God is still King.

Comments are closed.