Mmm . . . Fruit.

Standard

“The most dangerous sin of all is the presumption of righteousness.” – Martin Luther

I can’t pretend to know Mr. Martin Luther’s reasoning behind anything he said. Especially since it was nearly 500 years ago that he said anything at all. However, I can try my hand at interpreting his words. And I have the very American right to have an opinion about the words he spoke. So here goes, Martin Luther thought that the most dangerous sin of all was the presumption of righteousness. Why?

First of all I’m of the belief that no one should presume anything about anything. Unless a person has hard evidence in front of them, nothing is certain. That’s exactly how rumors start. Humans tend to assume to much. We go to school starting out very innocent and sponge-like. Yearning for knowledge almost as much as we want for food. But somewhere along the way (For some the time comes sooner than others.) we become what’s known as a know-it-all. We assume we know all there is to know. Or, at least all we think we need to know. And then our sponge-like brains and spirits become more like rocks. Stubborn and hard. Sometimes being like a rock is good, don’t get me wrong. We should not be so naive as to be easily swayed. Particularly when morals are involved. The mistake is believing we are infallible. That we have nothing to to learn, and that we need no mercy, no grace.

That last bit sounds scary to me. I don’t ever want to think that grace is too good for me. Which brings me to my second point. Righteousness is something given to us by the Holy Spirit. A great and wonderful gift from God, paid for by the blood of His Son Jesus Christ. May I never assume that I am responsible for my own righteousness. Because it’s simply unattainable without my savior Jesus Christ. Am I righteous? Yes. Because God says I am through adoption. Do I personally have anything to do with that? No.

Now while I do indeed have fruit of the Spirit; it’s more like the fruit of His Spirit, not mine. I can do all things through Christ, not I can do all things through the power of my own sheer will. I’m just going to try and stay out of the way via obedience to God’s will. That is what will produce the very best fruit in my opinion.

One response