Have You Heard?

Standard

“But how are they to call on him in whom they have not believed?  And how are they to believe in him of whom they have never heard?  And how are they to hear without someone preaching?  And how are they to preach unless they are sent?  As it is written, ‘How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the good news!’ But they have not all obeyed the gospel.  For Isaiah says, ‘Lord who has believed what he has heard from us?’  So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.”  Romans 10:14-17

In Hebrew the word we translate as obey actually means to hear or listen carefully.  The verses above tell us that before anyone can obey the word of God, they must hear it.  The apostles heard the word directly from Jesus.  When he ascended into heaven he told them:

“…you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.”  Acts 1:8

I have been hearing God’s word since I was a child.  I still need to hear it, because as one author puts it, “sinners want to sin.”  I am a  sinner and I need to hear about God’s love and be reminded of his commandments over and over.  Today is Sunday, so all of us have an opportunity to hear.  Take that opportunity;  listen attentively;  then go out and tell others so they can also hear and obey.

About jculler1972

My husband is the pastor of St. Paul's Free Lutheran Church in Leitersburg, Maryland. I have two grown daughters and a granddaughter and am retired after a career in Purchasing. I have published articles in The Lutheran Ambassador, Lutheran Witness, and Lutheran Digest. My Bible study on the Book of Acts was recently published by the Women's Missionary Federation of the AFLC(Association of Free Lutheran Churches).

Comments are closed.