God’s Servant

Standard

“And Mary said, “Behold I am the servant of the Lord; let it be to me according to your word.” Luke 1:38

We’ve just started a study of the book of Luke in our weekly Bible study, and right away we have one of the best examples of obedience in the Scripture.  The verse above is Mary’s response to the angel Gabriel’s announcement(it’s called the annunciation) that she will have a very special infant.  The conception will come about through the action of God’s Holy Spirit, without a human father….but wait, that’s a problem!  Mary is a young, unmarried woman.  What will the neighbors think?  Even worse, what will her parents and her fiancé think?  She’ll be disgraced and that special child branded as illegitimate. She might even be stoned.  How can this be good?

If Mary thought any of these things, it seems to have been for a very fleeting moment, because almost instantly she responds by saying she is God’s servant (some versions say handmaiden) and she will do whatever He commands. I wonder how many of us would be so accepting.  I’m pretty sure I’d be begging God to find some other way to accomplish His purpose.  Some way that didn’t cause me difficulty and humiliation.

Thankfully Mary did not try to take the easy way out.  She trusted God and His plan for her and for everybody else.  Remember in one of my previous posts I talked about how what is for our immediate good is not always for our ultimate good?  Here’s a perfect example.

I need to keep this in mind when things are happening that I don’t understand or don’t like.  God’s ways are not mine.  He has a plan.  I am His servant, just like Mary.

Comments are closed.