Not an Option

Standard

My friend, Michele is giving a talk on an upcoming Via de Cristo weekend.  The title of her talk is “Apostolic Action” which is defined as anything we  do with the sole purpose of influencing others to develop a relationship with Christ;  in essence, witnessing.

When Michele gave her talk at a recent team meeting, the idea that stood out most for me is this:  witnessing to others is not an option.  Let me repeat that:  WITNESSING IS NOT AN OPTION.

If we examine the words of Jesus in Acts known as the Great Commission, we see how true this is.

“But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.”  Acts 1:8

This is a command, not a request.  Jesus did not say, “some of you will be my witnesses,” or “you may choose to be my witnesses,”  He said, “you will be my witnesses.”  Like it or not, it’s a simple fact.

There’s a story I’ve heard that goes something like this:  when Jesus returned to Heaven, some angels asked Him how He intended to spread the gospel throughout the world.  He replied that He had trained and sent out 12 disciples.  The angels responded, “what if these disciples fail?  What will You do next?”  Jesus replied, “There is no other plan.”

The disciples were the first witnesses;  we are His witnesses today.  It’s not an option.  There is no other plan.

 

2 responses

  1. I don’t have what I would consider to be the gift of evangelism; however, that does not absolve me of my responsibility for witnessing. (I don’t have the gift of hospitality either, but I certainly can’t use that as an excuse to be rude if someone shows up at my front door.) Just because we don’t have certain gifts doesn’t mean that we can ignore Jesus’s words to give, serve, and witness.

    I must admit though that It was a great relief to me the day that I read the following quote from St. Francis of Assisi: St. Francis reportedly said, “Preach Jesus, and if necessary use words.”

    There are many ways to be His witness and fulfill His command, and I’m grateful for that.

    Like

    • Good to hear from you, Nancy, and I completely agree! In fact, Saint Francis’s comment will probably be the subject of another post!

      Like