Open Your Eyes

Standard

“I tell you, open your eyes and look at the fields!  They are ripe for harvest.”  John 4:35

I’m a pastor’s wife and I’m retired.  Most of the people I come into regular contact with go to church.  Who does God expect me to witness to?  This sounds like a good excuse, doesn’t it?  I’m sure many other Christians feel this way.  We keep ourselves busy with “church work” and “church people.”  It’s all we can do to keep our little piece of the Kingdom functioning smoothly–isn’t that enough?

Well, actually, it’s not.  This kind of attitude is treating the church as our club, our community organization, or our circle of like-minded friends.  Jesus didn’t stop after sharing His message with the twelve disciples.  He touched people in His daily life, all kinds of people;  tax collectors, Samaritans, lepers, widows, you name it!  He wasn’t annoyed to be interrupted or inconvenienced.  Each encounter became a divine appointment.  We have those too, if we would just open our eyes.  What about the cashiers at the store, the workers at the library, the beautician or barber?  I am guilty of going about my everyday errands without thinking about the people involved.  Jesus never forgot.  He stopped.  He had compassion.  He asked questions.  If I pay attention, maybe I can do that, too. I may not “convert” anyone.  They may never join my congregation.  But by my words and action, my witness, maybe I can be one link in the chain that leads them to Christ.

“Then he said to his disciples, ‘The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few;  therefore pray earnestly to the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into his harvest.”  Matthew 9:37

 

 

