Remember Who Is Watching

Standard

I’ve made a conscious decision to not have a Facebook page.  Why?  I know there are good things about it.  It’s a way to connect with relatives and friends you don’t see in person very often. You can let people know what you’re interested and doing — I could publicize our blog, for example.  There’s nothing wrong with things like that.

However, my daughter and I have talked about how Facebook often seems to get people into trouble because they forget that whatever they post is public.  They say bad things about their boss or workplace, forgetting that whoops! that person is watching. Maybe they lose their job, or at least get reprimanded. They post hurtful comments about a cousin and then– uh-oh–that person’s sibling can see it, too.  Suddenly an entire branch of their family hates them.  They make a joke about a friend –all in good fun, they think, and that friendship is abruptly over.

As Christians, we also need to remember that our lives are our witness, and others are watching how we behave and respond.  My husband used to tell our kids when they were younger, remember who you are and whose you are.  The Bible tells us that we are Christ’s representatives;  we are His body, His hands and feet and heart in the world.

“Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, God making his appeal through us.”  1 Corinthians 5:20

Our lives are to reflect Christ’s love;  too often they only reflect our own self interest.  So think before you speak and act.  Will the impression you give lead others to Christ?  Or will it turn them away?  What kind of witness do you want to be?

Image result for image of let my words be tender

About jculler1972

My husband is the pastor of St. Paul's Free Lutheran Church in Leitersburg, Maryland. I have two grown daughters and a granddaughter and am retired after a career in Purchasing. I have published articles in The Lutheran Ambassador, Lutheran Witness, and Lutheran Digest. My Bible study on the Book of Acts was recently published by the Women's Missionary Federation of the AFLC(Association of Free Lutheran Churches) in 2017