Blessed Interruptions

Standard

“We must be ready to allow ourselves to be interrupted by God.”
Dietrich Bonhoeffer

Okay, I freely admit I am bad at this.  I think it’s part of my slightly anxious personality to need a plan;  it gives me a sense of control.  If my plan is interrupted, it throws my whole day off. I feel rushed and flustered. I have to continually remind myself that I am retired–if circumstances intervene, I can do that chore or errand or make that phone call tomorrow!

If you read through the gospels, you will find that Jesus was constantly interrupted.  His teaching was interrupted by the men who lowered their friend down through the roof in hopes Jesus would heal him (He did);  His sleep was interrupted when the disciples begged Him to get up and save them from the storm that was threatening their boat (He did); His journey was interrupted by a blind man who called out to Him (He stopped);  He was interrupted by children (He blessed them).

My plans for today, this week, this year or even the rest of my life are trivial compared to the plans of Jesus, but He never failed to put people first.  In fact, He made people part of His plan;  every interaction was an opportunity to share God’s love and explain God’s plan.  That’s the plan that’s really important.

 

