Timing Is Important

Standard
Timing Is Important

A time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to harvest. Eccl. 3:2

Hello, and welcome back! I’m glad you can join us again. If this is your first time reading our blog check out the previous posts in this study of Ecclesiastes. I also encourage you to check out some of the posts my co-writers have shared too!

As we will learn in these next 7 verses, timing is important, timing is everything. We were born in a specific time period, in a specific year, at a specific time of day, to a specific set of parents, and in a specific family. We leave this world in the same way. Each season of our lives, between birth and death, have appointed lengths of time. Some of those seasons will be short, some of them can seem like they go on for an eternity.

In verses 1-8, King Solomon explains that every experience we have on this Earth has its proper time and place.  Here in verse 2, he gives us the examples of birth and death, planting and harvesting. Birth and death are two things we experience that are pretty self explanatory. Everyone is born and everyone will die. For this blog post we are going to focus on planting and harvesting.

Most all of us have heard the phrase…you reap what you sow… but a lot of people don’t realize it is a biblical truth. Scripture is full of writings about reaping the consequences of our actions. (Galatians 6:7, 2 Corinthians 9:6, Proverbs 11:8) Something I have always told my children is that every choice we make has a consequence…sometimes they are bad and other times they are good, but one way to make sure they are good is to be obedient to God.

Part of parenting is sowing seeds of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness, and self-control. This is how we should “train a child up in the way he should go and he will never depart from it”. Sowing these kinds of seeds, from the fruits of the Holy Spirit, will produce good results. Even if our children wander for a period of time, usually they will find their way back to the path God has for them.

If we sow seeds of our sinful nature into our children… sexual impurity, idolatry, sorcery, lust, envy, jealousy, greed, hostility, drunkenness, anger, selfish ambition, dissension, and division…the characteristics that are the outcome are quite the opposite. We end up creating people who can’t function well in society because all that was poured into them as they were growing and developing…were nothing more than bad seeds.

So I ask you to think about your children. Do your children have characteristics that you don’t particularly like? If so, I want you to search your own heart and actions and ask yourself, are these characteristics things that I display and they have learned from me?

I can say for myself that is the case, and since becoming a follower of Jesus Christ I have been working on how to correct my mistakes. To sow better seeds not only into my children, but in all my relationships. I have learned the hard way it is better to do it right with God’s help the first time, than to try to fix what didn’t need to be broken in the first place.

What you plant in the lives of other people matters. It makes all the difference in what kind of harvest you reap.

God loves you and so do I,

Leslie

About livingwaterdesigns

I have been married to my high school sweetheart and pastor husband, George, for almost 23 years. We are currently serving St. John's Lutheran Church in Newark, Ohio which is a part of the Association of Free Lutheran Congregations. We were both born and raised in Maryland and raised two beautiful daughters there too. We are both active in the Vineyard Via de Cristo chapter in Maryland. I have published writings on this blog, The Lutheran Ambassador, and the AFLC bulletin devotionals. I am a follower of Jesus Christ and I pray that my writings glorify Him and inspire others along their journey of faith!

Comments are closed.